- 37. There have been but two changes of Government and five Ministries since Confederation, and with the exception of the period from 17th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John Macdonald was at the head of the Government from 1st July, 1867, to the day of his death, on the 6th June, 1891.
- 38. The following are the names of members from time to time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments:—

LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION.

FIRST MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier	" Sir John Rose Sir Francis Hincks		1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867 30, 1867 9, 1869 22, 1873
Minister of Militia and Defence	" Sir Hector L. Langevin Hon. Sir George E. Cartier " Hugh McDonald	July Dec. July	1, 1867 9, 1869 1, 1867 1, 1873
Minister of Customs Minister of Agriculture	" Sir Charles Tupper Hon. J. C. Chapais " C. Dunkin	July Feb. July Nov. Oct.	1, 1867 22, 1873 1, 1867 16, 1869 25, 1871
Postmaster General Minister of Marine and Fisheries Minister of Inland Revenue	" John O'Connor. Hon. Peter Mitchell Hon. W. P. Howland. " A. Morris " Sir Charles Tupper " John O'Connor.	July July July Nov. July Mar. July	1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867 16, 1869 2, 1872 4, 1873 1, 1873
Minister of Interior President of Council	Hon. A. J. F. Blair	Nov. June July	1, 1873 1, 1867 30, 1869 16, 1869 21, 1870 2, 1872 14, 1873